along the la river -or- splish, splash…

fish1

fish4

splash

fish2I admit I was a little surprised to see these fish (there were three in all) attempting to swim north on the LA River channel about 5 feet from where I stood… I kept hearing splashing, but couldn’t see anything initially… then I saw some movement and saw something splashing in the river. Judging from the size, these fish were quite large… at least 18″ long, which given the area to maneuver in, was enormous… I’m pretty sure one of them got stuck in the shallows and I’m not sure if it was able to move any further. I did end up walking north and didn’t come back to see if it was ok…

There were a couple of guys on the opposite bank fishing… but I have no idea if they caught anything. Personally, I’m not sure I would eat anything coming out of the river, especially after the floods from a couple of weeks back…

duck_soup

ducks3.19

It was late in the afternoon and I had gone down to the river to shoot some images of the waterfowl as they lazed about the river searching for something to munch on…

Surprisingly, there were a few ducks on the bank just north of the bridge who appeared unafraid as I wandered fairly close, took some photos, and left…

lariver

I did notice remnants of the recent floods caught in tree branches up the river…

I do believe it’s time for a cleanup!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment